Skip to content

Pinot Butter & Jellies: The Ceremony, Part 2

March 10, 2011

After the readings, it was time to exchange our vows.  Lili first asked us to express our intent: “The promises you are to make today are both the culmination and foundation of a life lived with intention and integrity. Knowing what you know about one another and about the rewards and challenges of being married, are you now ready to make your promises to one another?”  Yes, we are.


“The exchange of vows is your offering of support and commitment to each other. They serve as guiding principles in your marriage, both spiritually and emotionally, and offer you a foundation for your future that is sacred and solid. Remember that the giving of your word carries with it both a great responsibility and great promise of the love that can unfold for you throughout your future together.”

[Fun fact: Mr. Jelly wrote our vows.  We originally planned on writing our own vows independelty and then surprising each other with them during the ceremony.  As time went on, however, we decided we wanted to write our vows together.  Mr. Jelly finished his draft before I even started mine, and once I read it I felt like I couldn’t think of anything better – he captured it so perfectly.  So, we ended up using the vows he wrote – I only added in one line.  Can you guess which line it was?]

I, Garrett, choose you Monica to be my wife, my best friend and partner, my lover and biggest supporter, my shoulder to cry on and person to rejoice with. You are my closest friend, the person I rely on, my daily inspiration, and the love of my life. I promise to love you the way you are; to accept the things you believe in; to always try and understand you; and do everything I can to make you happy, successful, and comfortable, so that you can live a fulfilled life – as an individual and as my partner. I promise to be faithful to you and honest with you, to believe in you and believe in us, to give you my love and trust, my acceptance and respect, and to share with you my laughter, smiles, and hugs. These things I promise to you everyday – when you need them and when you don’t – before you have to ask, from this day onward.

I, Monica, choose you Garrett to be my husband, my best friend and partner, my lover and biggest supporter, my shoulder to cry on and person to rejoice with. You are my closest friend, the person I rely on, my daily inspiration, and the love of my life. I promise to love you the way you are; to accept the things you believe in; to always try and understand you; and do everything I can to make you happy, successful, and comfortable, so that you can live a fulfilled life – as an individual and as my partner. I promise to be faithful to you and honest with you, to believe in you and believe in us, to give you my love and trust, my acceptance and respect, and to share with you my laughter, smiles, and hugs. These things I promise to you everyday – when you need them and when you don’t – before you have to ask, from this day onward.

Did I mention it was hot that day?  We were both sweating bullets, and I wiped Mr. Jelly’s brow at one point during the ceremony.  I’m impressed that our photographer captured such a fleeting moment.

When we were finished saying our vows, Lili asked the Best Man to step forward with the rings.  While he hammed it up pretending that he had forgotten them, I got a kick out of seeing our ringbearer shoot up out of his chair, thinking that he needed to come forward with the (artificial) rings on his pillow.

(Guest photo courtesy of A. Barsan)

(Photo courtesy of Ax2D Photography)

Lili then began the exchange of the rings: “As a promise that you will work together to fulfill these vows, you will now give and receive the rings of union. As tokens of your marriage, these rings are a symbol of your eternal bond. Wear them proudly as they represent your marriage. As the ring is a perfect circle without end, it is the wish and hope of all that your marriage will be as perfect and never ending. Let these rings symbolize the devotion and commitment each hold for the other. Look to these rings each day as inspiration for your common purpose.”

“Exchanging rings denotes your commitment to loving. By placing the ring half way on the other’s finger, Monica and Garrett indicate their intention and commitment to each other. By sliding the ring the rest of the way on their own finger, they demonstrate their acceptance. This is done to symbolize that no one can wed you but yourself; that it’s something can only be done in your own heart.”

“Monica, I give you this ring as a symbol of our vows, and with all that I am and all that I have I love you.”

“Garrett, I give you this ring as a symbol of our vows, and with all that I am and all that I have I love you.”

We loved the symbolism of sliding the ring on our own finger to show acceptance.

“Will you please join me in our closing blessing: May you, Monica and Garrett be given the vision with which to clearly behold one another, listen to one another, honor one another, and give each other the freedom to grow. May you be together blessed with a perpetual openness to delight, and learn, together. May you have true friends to stand by you in joy and sorrow. May the support of all who are gathered here assist you in staying strong, flexible and true to the best in yourselves and each other.

We looked out at our family and friends, and took it all in one last time.  (Guest photo courtesy of J. Yiu)

“Your friends and family, all of us here, rejoice in your happiness and we pray that this day marks only one of many more blessings you will share in the days and years ahead. By the love that has brought you together, and the vows you have exchanged and by the integrity of your commitment, and in the presence of God and these witnesses here, through the power vested in me, it is my pleasure and honor to pronounce you husband and wife.”

“Garrett, you may kiss your bride.”

*Photos in this post are courtesy of Cliff Brunk Photography, except where otherwise noted.

 

Missed a post? Catch up here:
  • It’s Pinot Butter Jellies Time!: Week Before the Wedding [http://www.weddingbee.com/2010/11/15/week-before-the-wedding-schedule/]
  • Pinot Butter & Jellies: Practice Makes Perfect [http://www.weddingbee.com/2010/11/16/winery-wedding-rehearsal/]
  • Pinot Butter & Jellies: Making a Splash [http://www.weddingbee.com/2010/12/03/rehearsal-dinner-pool-party/]
  • Pinot Butter & Jellies: Bocce e Abbracci [http://www.weddingbee.com/2010/12/14/wedding-bocce/]
  • Pinot Butter & Jellies: The Night Before [http://www.weddingbee.com/2010/12/22/to-do-the-night-before-the-wedding/]
  • Pinot Butter & Jellies: Getting Dolled Up [http://www.weddingbee.com/2010/12/27/pinot-butter-jellies-getting-dolled-up/]
  • Pinot Butter & Jellies: Putting on the Dress [http://www.weddingbee.com/2010/12/29/amsale-wedding-dress/]
  • Pinot Butter & Jellies: Our First Look [http://www.weddingbee.com/2010/12/30/wedding-day-first-look-2/]
  • Pinot Butter & Jellies: Bridal Party Portraits [http://www.weddingbee.com/2011/01/07/air-force-wedding/]
  • Pinot Butter & Jellies: Setting the Scene, Part 1 [http://www.weddingbee.com/2011/01/12/pleasanton-wedding-venues/]
  • Pinot Butter & Jellies: The Ceremony Begins [http://www.weddingbee.com/2011/01/24/outdoor-wedding-ceremony-4/]
  • Pinot Butter & Jellies: Here Comes the Bride [http://www.weddingbee.com/2011/01/27/bride-down-the-aisle/]
  • Pinot Butter & Jellies: The Ceremony, Part 1 [http://www.weddingbee.com/2011/03/09/winery-wedding-ceremony/]
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

