Skip to content

Pinot Butter & Jellies: Getting Dolled Up

December 27, 2010

After sneaking back to my room around 7:30 am, I managed to get a just few more minutes of shut-eye before our awesome hair and makeup team, Exquisite Faces, arrived at 8 am.  My bridesmaids joined me in the bridal suite and we chatted, read gossip magazines and snacked on breakfast foods while they all got their hair done.

I shamelessly copied the design of this sign from our very own Mrs. Coconut – right down to the stickers.  What can I say? Imitation is the sincerest form of flattery?

Finally, it was my turn to get prettified.  I had my hair done in a style similar to my trial [http://www.weddingbee.com/2010/04/20/make-me-up-before-you-go-go-2/], but decided to go with a side part for a more youthful look.  I also had the hairdresser do my updo a little bit higher, and I was really pleased with the results.  Then it was time for makeup:

I made sure to open Mr. Jelly’s card to me before the mascara went on – he always writes such nice things that I was afraid I’d end up with ruined makeup if I read it post-mascara application.

Then it was time for airbrush foundation.  If you’re thinking about doing airbrush makeup for your big day, I definitely recommend it!  My makeup stayed put all day, even during our 30-minute outdoor ceremony in almost-90 degree heat!

After the airbrush was on, it was time for the false eyelashes.  Even though Vy assured me that they looked natural, I was afraid that they looked too artificial.  I even summoned my MOH and one of my bridesmaids to ask if they looked too fake.

I’m pretty sure I’m saying “Do they make me look like a drag queen?” Luckily, the answer was no.

The false eyelashage in action.

Are you guys tired of seeing me yet?  Yeah, me too, I’m sorry.  The bridesmaids were off doing their own makeup, so most of the photos I have from the morning are of me.  But while I was getting the last of my makeup done, everyone else was putting on their finishing touches as well…

Our adorable Ringbearer #1, suited up and ready to go.

Bridesmaid Amy and beautiful Mama Jelly (who rocked her glasses, btw. She just wouldn’t have looked like her without them!)

Mama Jelly helping Bridesmaid Lauren get into her dress.

Before we knew it, it was time to head to the venue where we were meeting our photographer for pre-ceremony photos (and where I’d be changing into my dress).  I called Mr. Jelly to make sure we wouldn’t run into each other in the hotel lobby, grabbed my dress, and headed outside.

My sweet uncle drove me and a couple of bridesmaids to the venue in his rented SUV.

This was it!  Our wedding day was finally here.

*All photos in this post courtesy of Andy of Ax2D Photography.

Missed a post? Catch up here:
  • It’s Pinot Butter Jellies Time!: Week Before the Wedding [http://www.weddingbee.com/2010/11/15/week-before-the-wedding-schedule/]
  • Pinot Butter & Jellies: Practice Makes Perfect [http://www.weddingbee.com/2010/11/16/winery-wedding-rehearsal/]
  • Pinot Butter & Jellies: Making a Splash [http://www.weddingbee.com/2010/12/03/rehearsal-dinner-pool-party/]
  • Pinot Butter & Jellies: Bocce e Abbracci [http://www.weddingbee.com/2010/12/14/wedding-bocce/]
  • Pinot Butter & Jellies: The Night Before [http://www.weddingbee.com/2010/12/22/to-do-the-night-before-the-wedding/]
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

