Skip to content

Ivory Shoes and a Very Special Something Blue

August 26, 2010

Many moons ago, I shared with you my grand plans to wear blue shoes (http://www.weddingbee.com/2010/03/12/something-blue-for-our-city-hall-wedding-6/) as my “something blue.”

Photo by Ax2D Photography

Then, I wore said shoes to my city hall ceremony, and they hurt my feet so bad that I ended up going barefoot:

Photo by Ax2D Photography

So, even though I loved the look of my blue shoes, I went back to the drawing board in search of the perfect (read: comfortable) wedding shoes. Though I had been adamantly opposed to white/ivory shoes in the past, I decided to broaden my search this time. Mama Jelly and I ordered several pairs from Zappos.com, and I finally found a winner. And to my own surprise, I picked ivory shoes:

“Marimbow” by Stuart Weitzman (personal photo)

I love that the heel isn’t too high! I’m horrible at walking in super-high heels (which for me, is anything over 3.5 inches). I’ve been breaking them in over the past week, and they’re pretty comfy!

So now that I had the shoes, I no longer had my “something blue.” That’s when I starting looking on Etsy for “something blue” ideas. I really loved the idea of having a custom dress label made, with my new initials and wedding date on it in blue. Something like this one:

From Etsy seller Michaelangela

But I wanted it to have special meaning, too, so I asked Bridesmaid Lauren’s mom (who is very dear to me and coincidentally very talented at cross-stitch) if she’d be able to make one for me. She was happy to do so and had it ready for me within a couple weeks! But being the bad blogger I am, I forgot to take a photo of it before handing it over to my alterations lady to sew it into my dress. So I guess you’ll have to wait until after the wedding to see what the label looks like – but it’s very similar to the one pictured above (except done in cross-stitch, not embroidery).

Does your something blue have a special story behind it?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

