Skip to content

Our First Dance: the Song

August 10, 2010

Ever since we got engaged 18 months ago, the song “Lucky” by Jason Mraz and Colbie Caillat has been on my short list for our first dance. I’ve loved Jason Mraz since I saw him in concert back in 2002, when he was just starting to get big. Mr. Jelly and I both love duets, and Jason Mraz and Colbie Caillat’s voices sound so beautiful together. And the lyrics – oh the lyrics! – they are just too perfect:

“I’m lucky I’m in love with my best friend
Lucky to have been where I have been
Lucky to be coming home again
I’m lucky we’re in love every way
Lucky to have stayed where we have stayed
Lucky to be coming home someday”

Let’s see here…Mr. Jelly and I are best friends…Mr. Jelly is gone a lot due to his military career…we consider ourselves lucky each time he returns from a deployment safe and sound…we’ve been together 7 years…I’d pretty much say those lyrics sum it up perfectly! So why wasn’t it a no-brainer?

This is going to sound silly but…I was concerned it was too popular. You know, overplayed. I mean, I’m pretty sure it’s the song that plays when United flights land, for Pete’s sake (or is it Delta? Anyone know what I’m talking about?)! I initially thought we should do something more unique. But try as I might, I couldn’t find anything I liked more. Then two things happened that confirmed that this was truly the right song for us. We played it for FMIL Jelly and she started to cry. She said the lyrics were just so perfect for our relationship. That same week, Mr. Jelly watched the music video for “Lucky” and noticed a curious coincidence around the 0:19 mark in the video…a shot of the Romanian embassy in Prague! As you may recall, I’m Romanian. Also, Mr. Jelly and I have been to Prague and he took a photo of me right in front of that embassy back in 2006. Check it out:

Screen shot of the video, which can be seen here.

Photo of yours truly, taken by Mr. JF

I’m a big believer in signs, and this silly little coincidence convinced me that this is the right first dance song for us, no matter how overplayed! We also signed up for dance lessons and our instructor said that we could definitely foxtrot to this song. But more on that later…

Did you ever second-guess one of your wedding choices just because it seemed too popular or overdone? I hope you said “screw it!” and went with what makes you happy!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

