Skip to content

A Very Jelly Bachelorette

August 8, 2010

I’m not a Vegas girl. Whereas some girls’ ideal Bachelorette weekend consists of Vegas, clubbing and, ahem, “specialty” straws, my ideal consists of amusement park rides, great food and Mickey ears. When my bridesmaids were beginning to plan my Bachelorette party, I not-so-subtly suggested one of my favorite places in the world, Disneyland. To my delight, the girls were on board.

How cute is the invite that Amy designed?

Due to various factors, including the difficulty of coordinating the schedules of 8 bridesmaids, we ended up scheduling my Bachelorette party for 2 weeks before the Bar exam. This may sound like a bad idea, but it actually worked well because my bar prep classes ended July 9 and the Bachelorette party was on July 10, so it was like one last hurrah before I got really serious about exam preparation. Because it was only a couple weeks before the exam, however, I could only afford to take one day off from studying – so what could have easily been a whole weekend of activities was crammed into one amazing day. My three LA bridesmaids planned the whole thing – a 24 hour fun-filled extravaganza, including a trip to Disneyland, dinner at the exclusive Club 33, and a sleepover. From the moment I stepped off the plane at John Wayne Airport in Orange County, it was fun fun fun!

The morning of the party, Bridesmaids Lauren and Iulia picked me up from the airport with fresh, homemade blueberry muffins in tow. We met the rest of the girls in the Disneyland parking lot, where I was given my very own Bachelorette party t-shirt to match the rest of the girls (designed by super creative bridesmaid Amy, natch).

Here is one of the girls modeling our t-shirt. Isn’t it cute? I love how they incorporated my Weddingbee icon into it!!

After I put on my t-shirt and bride Minnie ears, the girls presented me with another surprise: cupcakes from my favorite LA cupcakery, Sprinkles!! Oh red velvet, how I love you so. We scarfed down our cupcakes and entered the park, where we spent the next few hours going on our favorite rides, competing against each other in Disneyland bingo (a fun game created by Bridesmaid Lauren) and savoring delicious Disney treats, like Dole Pineapple Whip:Me with my Dole Pineapple Whip Sundae. Pineapple whip is pretty much my favorite thing, and I’ve even tried to recreate it at home (with little success). As far as I know, the only places you can get it are Disneyland/world and the Dole Plantation on Oahu.

The girls enjoying lunch at Rancho del Zocalo Restaurante.

With my fairy godmother. :)

One of my favorite rides, Splash Mountain. I sat in the front and got drenched. BM Amy passed up the ride just so she could get this great shot!

At California Adventure. We had a blast riding the Tower of Terror (my personal favorite), California Screamin’, and Soaring Over California.

After a full day at Disneyland and California Adventure, we went back to the parking lot to change into fancier outfits for our dinner reservations at the exclusive Club 33. Club 33 is a secret Disneyland restaurant that’s not open to the public, meaning you either have to be a member or know a member to dine there. Luckily, BM Lauren has a connection, so we were able to get a reservation! It was truly a once-in-a-lifetime experience. The ambiance, the food, the service – it was all impeccable.


The food was amazing. Top Right: Rock Lobster, Tree Ripened Peach Risotto, Charred Asparagus
Bottom Left:  Grilled New York Strip Loin with a Gorgonzola Soubise
Bottom Right: passion-fruit crème brûlée with Madeleines on the side.Yep, I even wore my Minnie ears during dinner. Gotta milk it while I can, no?

After a leisurely dinner, we headed back to one of the bridesmaid’s apartments and had a sleepover, complete with games. In the morning, the girls made me ridiculously delicious baked french toast, and then sent me on my way with one final treat – a to-go package from my favorite Lebanese restaurant in LA, Sunnin.

I nearly started crying when the TSA took my hummus.

With that, the girls managed to pack in an entire weekend’s worth of fun into 24 hours. They made me feel so loved and spoiled, and gave me a welcome break from bar studying. I’m so thankful to them.

What was your Bachelorette party like? Was your Bachelorette party very “you” or did your girls plan something unexpected?

*All photos by my bridesmaid Amy, of Ax2D Photography.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

