Skip to content

My Letterpress Dreams Come True

July 4, 2010

Way back when, I asked for your help in picking out our wedding invitations (http://www.weddingbee.com/2010/03/01/invitation-indecision/). After weighing all my options, I decided to go with the letterpress invitations from Ajalon Printing & Design, a small letterpress shop in Santa Rosa, CA. Due to a special they were having at the time –  100 invites and RSVP postcards for $439 – the invitations were almost the same cost as getting digitally printed invites from Wedding Paper Divas, so it was a no-brainer for me.

Though I could have ordered them online, I thought it would be fun to venture out to wine country so I drove to Santa Rosa and met with the shop’s manager, Trish Jackson, in person to order my invitations. She was delightful to work with – incredibly patient with my many questions and very professional. She even let me take home the envelopes so I could get a head start on calligraphy! When it came time to selecting the wording and fonts for the invite, she had great suggestions and we came up with a stunning invitation based on the Kourtesis design:

(this is the design our invitation is based on – not our actual invite) Source

A couple of weeks after our meeting, I had these babies in hand:

But I was far from being done with our invitations. I had some DIY additions to make, including: adding a cardstock backing, adding belly bands closed with sealing wax, a wedding map insert, and calligraphy. Stay tuned for an invite reveal, coming soon!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

