Skip to content

Glutton for Punishment?

May 27, 2010

Save me from myself.

Ever since I was a little girl, I have been obsessed with beautiful writing. I knew I wanted to have calligraphy on our invitation envelopes, but I also knew that I wasn’t willing to shell out a whole bunch of money to have someone do it for me. Luckily, I have some very crafty friends, and bridesmaid Lauren assured me that I could learn calligraphy, just as she did for her wedding. Now, when Lauren does something, she does it 100%. So when she set out to do her wedding invitations, she didn’t just learn any ol’ calligraphy style – she learned Copperplate Script, the most beautiful, fancy-shchmancy type of all (in my opinion). Here is the envelope she addressed to President Obama:

Um, can you say, awesome?!?! Photo courtesy of Lauren.

She gave me a few pointers, lent me some materials and this awesome book:

Mastering Copperplate Calligraphy: A Step-by-Step Manual by Eleanor Winters, only $10 on Amazon.com

A few weeks ago, I found the appropriate pen holder and nibs at Paper Source, bought some ink and started practicing. After a couple hours, I had this:

I was off to a good start! But then came finals. And graduation. And now, Bar studying. As my invitation deadline draws closer, I am beginning to panic about my ability to 1) fully learn calligraphy and 2) calligraph (is that the verb?) 90 envelopes (Lauren already offered to do the other half!).

Once again, Lauren to the rescue! She graciously offered to do all the calligraphy for me. I’m still going to try to do some myself, but I really appreciate her willingness to help me on this! So this weekend, I’m taking a little road trip to visit her, and hopefully we can do some of the calligraphy together!

Have you attempted to learn calligraphy? Did you find yourself in over your head?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

