Skip to content

Jumping on the Envelope Liner Bandwagon

April 26, 2010

The first time I heard about envelope liners (http://www.weddingbee.com/2008/07/02/invitation-liners/), I quickly dismissed the idea as a waste of time and something only a crazy bride would do. Fast forward to 14 months later: I want, nay, I need envelope liners. Not for our invitation envelopes, but for our Thank You cards. You may recall that I found some really cute and affordable Thank You cards (http://www.weddingbee.com/2010/03/29/fabulous-find-thank-you-cards/#more-136272) from Target:

Source

I really like them, but the envelopes are a little flimsy. The solution? Envelope Liners! I threw out the idea of envelope liners to Mr. Jelly the other day, and was surprised that he not only thought it was a great idea, but he also wanted to help!

I created a template for my liners by cutting up a sacrificial envelope and tracing it onto a piece of cardboard, and then cutting that out. Using a pencil, I traced around the template onto my paper. Then, the other night, while catching up on The Office, we knocked out about 50 of these babies! Mr. Jelly cut out all the liners and I used a glue stick to attach them to the envelopes.

Our workspace: messy coffee table, glass of vino, and Michael Scott.

The fruits of our labor! I just used leftover scrapbooking paper I had laying around.

I really think they add something special to our Thank You cards, and they definitely make them feel less flimsy. In Mr. Jelly’s words, “now they look like $1.50 Thank You cards instead of $0.25 Thank You cards.” Oh that man, he really does have a way with words. :)

Did you “jump on the bandwagon” and decide to take on a project you initially thought you could do without?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

