Skip to content

How It All Began

April 13, 2010

I’ve told you all about the proposal (http://www.weddingbee.com/2010/02/26/the-proposal-13/), but I realized today that I’ve never told you the story of how we met. Mr. Jelly did a great job of writing about it for our wedding website, so here is his version of the story:

The first time I met Miss Jellyfish was the third day I was at college. It was the Sunday night prior to the week classes were set to begin and was historically the biggest partying night of the year at UCLA – “Black Sunday.” Almost the entire L.A. basin converged on Westwood and almost all of the fraternities were throwing parties. Of course I couldn’t resist the opportunity for my first big party at UCLA, so I went out on the town and had a fun night.

Miss Jellyfish is going to have to take up the story from the point where I arrived back at the dorms that night, but I can describe to you what happened the following morning. After a long night of socializing I woke up for lunch and made my way down to the dining hall. After some quick food, a bunch of water and some bright lights, I made my way back toward my room. The elevators going up to the fifth floor were all packed and after waiting in line for a while, I was able to squeeze my way on as one of the last people in the sardine can.

Trying to mind my own business in the packed elevator, all of a sudden I hear an excited voice say, “Hi Mr. Jellyfish!” As I looked up and did a quick scan of the elevator I realized that I didn’t recognize anyone. At this point the wheels in my head were turning fast, so I decided just to say hi and hope whomever it was that had initiated the conversation would speak up again. All I mustered was a simple “Hi,” but it worked. All of a sudden there was this gorgeous girl talking to me. I was easily the envy of all of the other sardines. Before I knew it we reached my floor and as I started to get off the elevator I realized that I wasn’t the only one. This girl apparently also lived on the floor. Seeing as how I was obviously on my A game and the wheels were still turning fast in my head, I quickly decided that I should ask for her name before it got too awkward. “So I am pretty sure that we met last night, but I don’t remember your name…” Before I could finish Miss Jellyfish cut me off and as she stormed away said, “We met three times last night!” As I stood there all I could think was, “There goes my chance with that girl.”

Photo of us taken in my dorm room in Rieber Hall, back when we were just friends.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

