Skip to content

Staying Organized and Sane

March 17, 2010

Throughout this crazy wedding planning process, I’ve found that staying organized has been very important to maintaining my peace of mind. I’m not sure what other brides do, but here is how I’ve organized my wedding inspiration and information:

The binder:

This wedding planner binder was recommended to me by BM Lauren, who used the same binder when she was planning her wedding. I recalled her raving about it, so I called her the day I got engaged and rushed to the nearest Barnes & Noble to buy it. I’m a dork, I know. It comes with lots of checklists and questions to ask vendors. It’s pretty helpful, but I think you can find most of that stuff online. I’d say the most helpful thing is the vendor questions, and it also has a special card pouch you can store business cards. The binder has become a repository for all the pages I’ve ripped out of magazines:

Not quite organized at this point. But that’s because I don’t really use it anymore, as I tend to put everything on my computer.

Most of my wedding information and inspiration goes in my “Wedding” file on my Desktop:

Yeah, it’s pretty intense. I like it that way. Subcategories make me a happier person. I go into each folder now and then and delete things I no longer like. I also have a stand alone “Wedding Ideas” word document where I type up lists and ideas.

I am a big fan of checklists, so I also use an online checklist tool to keep track of what I need to do. I actually set up checklists on both the Knot and Project Wedding, but I think Project Wedding’s checklist is a little easier on the eyes (and their website uploads more quickly):

My last organizational tool is a little notebook that goes everywhere with me. I use it to jot down ideas, phone numbers, and questions for potential vendors (the binder pictured above accompanied me to our first vendor meeting…that didn’t last!).

Source

No, not a Moleskine – was going to get one of those and then saw the Piccadilly kind for half the price – that’s how I roll.

So there you have it. Those are the main tools I use to  stay organized, and for the most part, they work very well. I also try to utilize Google Docs as much as possible – for example, I made a form and sent it to our guests as a way of gathering all their address information. It worked great, and now I have a spreadsheet of all our guests’ addresses that I can access from anywhere! Perhaps I will post a tutorial on that.

How do you or did you stay organized while planning your wedding? What have you found to be most helpful?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

