Skip to content

An Outfit for City Hall

March 4, 2010

Once we made the decision to get legally married before the wedding, I began searching for a civil ceremony outfit. Hoping to emulate my mom’s stylish wedding day look, I originally wanted to wear a white skirt suit.

Ok, I may have been inspired by this, too. (Source)

I soon learned, however, that a nice white skirt suit is hard to come by. Over the course of a few months, I must have tried on at least a dozen white suits but none of them fit right. Here were some of the better suits I considered (please ignore the bad photo quality – they were all taken using auto-timer!):

This Calvin Klein sheath dress with matching jacket is technically not a suit, but it had the structured look I was going for.  It was on sale for only $45 at Macy’s, but I wasn’t in love with it. I thought the sleeves looked a little awkward on me, so I ended up returning it.

Mama Jelly found this suit at Macy’s but we quickly ruled it out because I didn’t really want to wear pants to the city hall wedding.

This Tahari suit seemed promising at first, but I really don’t like the look of jacquard on me. It reminded me of my grandmother’s tablecloths.

And those were the good ones! After many failed attempts at finding a white suit, I broadened my search to include cocktail-length white dresses. Here were the best white dresses that I found:

_5829542I found this adorable dress at Nordstrom.com.  I love how it’s bridal yet casual at the same time. (Source)

_5792048This dress is also from Nordstrom.com, and it’s a little more casual and has a garden vibe to it. (Source)

I loved the neckline and bow detail on this David Meister dress from Saks (Source)

Which dress do you think I picked for my city hall wedding? Stay tuned to find out!

(Pengy — if you think it’s better for me to just reveal it at the end of this post, let me know and I’ll change it!)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

