Skip to content

I Don’t Think You’re Ready For This Jelly

February 25, 2010

Source

No, silly, not that jelly.

THIS Jelly!

Hello, I’m Miss Jellyfish, but you can call me Jelly!  I’ve been a devoted WeddingBee reader since shortly after Mr. Jelly and I got engaged a year ago, and I even started blogging with the hopes that I might one day apply to be a Bee myself. I feel so honored to be part of this amazing community and I’m excited to share my wedding plans with all of you! But before we get into the nitty-gritty wedding stuff, here’s some background on the Jellies:

The Jellies at Monterey Bay Aquarium.

Mr. Jelly and I met while living on the same floor as freshmen at UCLA. We’ve been friends for 7 1/2 years and have been dating for 6 1/2! I’m a third-year law student getting ready to graduate and join the real world; he’s an active duty Air Force pilot who has been in the real world for some time now. Where I’m neurotic, he’s laid back; where I’m wishy-washy, he’s decisive…he’s practically the peanut butter to my jelly (oh come on, you saw that coming). Despite our compatible personalities, the last 6 1/2 years haven’t just floated by (heh). We’ve had to work hard to maintain our relationship through 2 years of long distance and 2 deployments (and counting). The hard work has paid off and we’re so excited to be married in September! We’re planning an elegant, Tuscan-inspired wedding for 200 guests, to be held at a winery halfway between our parents’ houses. Follow along and discover just how truly indecisive this Jelly can be.

So…why Miss Jellyfish? The new Sea Creature icons are all so cute that it was hard to pick, but something about the Jellyfish just tugged at my heartstrings. Every time I go to an aquarium I run past all the other cool stuff and head straight towards the jellies. I love watching them float around, all mesmerizing and ethereal-like. Plus, jellies can be pretty badass – don’t mess with them or they’ll sting you. But mostly, I just think they’re cute. And kinda goofy. Sounds about right.

Personal photo

Please do say hello! I promise I won’t sting! 😉

Fun jelly fact: “Jellyfish” is a misnomer. Jellies aren’t actually fish at all.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

